“There is something delicious about writing the first words of a story. You never quite know where they’ll take you.” – Beatrix Potter

As a person who loves to travel I have always been a firm believer that a trip should not be so much about the destination but about enjoying the journey itself. And now it would seem that this belief has crossed over into my writing journey as well.

At first my main focus was to finish the first draft of my manuscript. I worked out a word count schedule to get me there, did character layouts and a detailed story outline. But now I find that the more I write, the more I am taking pleasure in the actual creative process of watching my characters develop and seeing the story take shape.

I have developed an appreciation for where I am in my story right now instead of focusing on how far I still have to go and in freeing my mind in this way it has opened the creative door wider than I ever thought possible. In ignoring the pressure to be productive I have become more creative and find myself often writing far more than what my original word count goals prescribed. And then, occasionally, I write less… yet feel the same sense of triumph for the day’s work.

Most of us live as though there aren’t enough hours in the day, putting pressure on ourselves to complete tasks as quickly as possible but if we do each thing calmly and with the passion it deserves it will get done faster and with much less stress. I want to enjoy the adventure of writing this manuscript as much as I am hoping to experience a sense of fulfilment once it is completed.

Now is the time to enjoy being ‘here’ without the stress of rushing ‘there’.

“The function of the first daft is to help you figure out your story. The function of every draft after that is to figure out the most dramatic way to tell that story.” – Darcy Pattinson

7 thoughts on “Enjoy the ride

  1. I feel like a big part of the magic of writing is letting it unfold as you write it and letting your characters develop the way that they want to and not necessarily the way that they were planned to 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Love this! Such amazing advice, and something that I (Heather) struggle with all the time. When I first started writing my novel, I had planned to have it done within 6 months (oh optimism…!), but I’m now 18 months down the line and no where near done! Being a massively impatient person makes it hard to enjoy the process of writing sometimes, but I’m working on it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Heather.
      Thank you so much and thank you for reading.
      Patience… This is definitely something I had to work on. Unfortunately it does not seem like creativity enjoys being given a time schedule – well, I know mine certainly doesn’t. Letting go was not easy but it was worth it. Enjoy your writing process, however long it may take.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s OK, it was a pleasure to read. Sometimes I just need to remind myself that writing a novel is a journey, and not just something that needs “finishing as soon as possible.” I’m a list writer, and love to achieve goals, and tick off things on my to do list, but writing should be more about the process than the end goal and the completion. Thanks again!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

