“When I’m writing, I know I’m doing the thing I was born to do.” – Anne Sexton

Why a blog? This is a question I have asked myself many times over the past few weeks. An old acquaintance, somewhat of a short-lived writing mentor, once suggested to me that I should start a blog – for no other reason than to get back into the practice of making time to write.

I have procrastinated over it for months. Pondering over what I would write about. Allowing insecurity to set in, questioning myself as to whether anyone would even want to follow me and read what I have to write.

Then last week I finally took the first step – well, I did what I do best… I researched it. Wow. I was left somewhat stunned. I had no idea that blog sites were so complex – One googled article warning not to be intimidated by WordPress, to stick to it and with time it would become more easily accessible. I read the endless articles on tips for beginner bloggers and finally it was one tip that stood out from the rest – Don’t overthink it, just write your first post and hit the publish button.

So here I am. Hello Blogiverse. And welcome to what I hope will be an entertaining addition to your feed. The journey of an unapologetically potty-mouth, single mother who works full-time (with politicians no less) while she completes her degree and mentally wrestles against her epic inner procrastinator to masters her goals as an aspiring writer.

And now as I sit here and end off my first blog post, I know that no matter how long I have travelled in the wrong direction, it is never too late to turn around. I feel a sense of accomplishment – one point to me and zero points to the inner procrastinator.

P.S. Parental Guidance Warning – Although this post is oddly enough profanity free, I cannot guarantee the same of future posts 😉

11 thoughts on “First Post

  1. Welcome to the blog-o-sphere where the only rules are the ones they don’t tell you until after you break them, and then won’t ever let you forget. I was a writing teacher for more than 31 years, and I always look forward to more head-words and heart-words from those people who think they are writers… and therefore probably are.

    Like

  2. Thank you for the follow, and welcome to the blogging world! I hope you have fun here on WordPress. It’s easier than you think, and you’ve made that first giant leap already. I look forward to reading more of your posts.

    Like

  3. Thank you so much for visiting my blog and I thought I would stop by yours. I see that you have only just started out so I wish all the luck in the world – where are you at with your writing? I love the honesty in your post here and I very much look forward to reading more of your blogs. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. Just starting out in the blogging community, which I am loving – reading as much as posting. I have been writing for many many years, but rarely finished any projects and remained unpublished, and finally life got in the way and I put it one side all together. Now I have put pen to paper once more, more determined and inspired than ever before. This is partly due to personal growth and partly due to the inspiration found in the writers network. I am working on a new project, following a more structured process than I have before, which seems to really be working for me. I am writing every day, exceding my target word count and happy with the progress I have made so far.
      Once again, thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you for visiting our blog and liking one of my posts! We are a group of 3 ex Creative Writing students who are really fanatical about writing. We have only been writing this blog since June this year so are very new to the whole blogging thing. We all have writing projects in hand so are no strangers to the fine art of procrastination.
    I’ll write again once I have read through your blog. In the meantime, it’s good to hear from you and I hope that you get all the success that you want from your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

